VILLAGE OF BERRIEN SPRINGS REGULAR COUNCIL MEETING

Minutes of the Village of Berrien Springs Regular Council Meeting held on Tuesday, July 05, 2022.

President Barry Gravitt called the council meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Present: President Barry Gravitt, President Pro-Tem Jack Davis, Trustees: Sheila Snyder, Sandy Swartz, Zach Fedoruk, and Village Clerk Sheri Kesterke.

Absent: Trustee Lonna Johnson, Trustee Kristin von Maur and Attorney DeFrancesco.

Also Present: *The Journal Era* and several audience members.

All stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

AGENDA APPROVAL:

*Moved by Sheila Snyder seconded by Sandy Swartz to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes, 5; Nays, 0. Motion carried.

APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES:

Approve the minutes of the Regular Council Meeting held June 20, 2022.

*Moved by Jack Davis seconded by Sandy Swartz to approve the minutes of the Regular Council Meeting held June 20, 2022, as presented. Ayes, 5; Nays, 0. Motion carried.

Approve the minutes of the Public Hearing held June 29, 2022.

*Moved by Zach Fedoruk seconded by Sheila Snyder to approve the minutes of the Public Hearing held June 29, 2022, as presented. Ayes, 5; Nays, 0. Motion carried.

Approve the minutes of the Special Council Meeting held June 29, 2022.

*Moved by Sandy Swartz seconded by Zach Fedoruk to approve the minutes of the Special Council Meeting held June 29, 2022, as presented. Ayes, 5; Nays, 0. Motion carried.

Approve the minutes of the Council Workshop held June 29, 2022.

*Moved by Zach Fedoruk seconded by Sheila Snyder to approve the minutes of the Council Workshop held June 29, 2022, as presented. Ayes, 5; Nays, 0. Motion carried.

CORRESPONDENCE:

1. The Central County Senior Center July Newsletter was received.

Audience Comments:

- *President Barry Gravitt gave accolades to all the volunteers, Community Coordinator Kelly Ewalt, and the PickleFest Committee Members for a very successful event yesterday. A special thank you was given to Public Works Superintendent Dave Kunde who was a crucial part of the festival and volunteered the entire day.
- *Jason Ramtahal of 113 E. Madison Expressed his appreciation of the council's support of the car show that he has brought to the Village. He also was impressed by the July 4th Parade yesterday. He is grateful of the committee and Kelly's hard work.
- *Teri Freehling introduced herself, she is the County Commissioner who now also serves all of Oronoko Township, which includes the Village of Berrien Springs. She touched on issues such as the broadband coverage problems in the county and how they are working hard to correct this shortage. She participated in the speeches at the courthouse square and was in the parade. She was also appreciative of the committee and the rest of the volunteers, they did great.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

FINANCE AND PERSONNEL - President Barry Gravitt, Chair

*The next Finance & Personnel Committee Meeting is scheduled for July 13, 2022, at 6:30 p.m.

Pay the bills.

*Moved by Jack Davis, seconded by Zach Fedoruk to pay the bills in the amount of \$107,724.64. Ayes, 5; Nays, 0. Motion carried.

PUBLIC PROPERTIES AND ORDINANCE – Chair: Kristin von Maur

*The next Public Properties and Ordinance Committee Meeting is scheduled for July 13, 2022, at 5:00 p.m.

FIRE –Village President Pro-Tem Jack Davis and Trustee Lonna Johnson are the Village Representatives.

- *Future Fire Board Meeting dates in 2022 are: July 27, September 28 and November 16, 2022, at 5:00 p.m.
- *Fire Board member Jack Davis stated the pancake breakfast was well attended yesterday, they were lined up to the road.

PUBLIC UTILITIES – Chair Sandy Swartz

*The next Public Utilities Committee Meeting is scheduled for July 13, 2022, at 5:30 p.m.

SHAMROCK PARK COMMITTEE -Sandy Swartz, Chair

*The next Shamrock Park Committee Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, July 13, 2022, at 6:30 p.m., however it may be cancelled.

LIBRARY BOARD– Sandy Swartz

*Minutes of the Library Board Meetings held April 28, 2022, and May 26, 2022, were received.

MEDIC 1 – Clerk Sheri Kesterke

*The next Medic 1 Board Meeting is scheduled for July 28, 2022.

RECREATION BOARD – Jack Davis

President Pro-Tem Jack Davis gave an update on the spring sports that have ended and the current sport activities that are happening now.

POLICE COMMITTEE – Village President Barry Gravitt is the Village Representative *Future Police Board Meetings are scheduled for: July 28 and October 27, 2022, at 3:30 p.m.

HISTORIC DISTRICT COMMITTEE: Chair Sheila Snyder

Chair Sheila Snyder will be scheduling a Historic District Committee meeting within the next two weeks.

SOCIAL MEDIA COMMITTEE: Chair Kelly Ewalt/Sheila Snyder & Zach Fedoruk *The next Social Media Committee Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, July 13, 2022, at 5:00 p.m.

ONGOING BUSINESS

*REMINDER: Candidates for Village Offices file an Affidavit of Identity, a Statement of Organization, and a Nonpartisan Nominating Petition no later than 4:00 p.m. on July 26, 2022, at Oronoko Township Hall. The General Election will be held November 08, 2022.

This year on the ballot will be the office of Village President (two-year term until November of 2024), three four-year trustee positions (until November of 2026); and one partial term expiring in November of 2024.

Terms expiring in 2022 are: President Barry Gravitt; Four-year terms: Trustees: Lonna Johnson, Sheila Snyder and Sandy Swartz. and the partial term currently held by Zachary Fedoruk.

NEW BUSINESS

Approve the fee schedule for the Rental Safety Verification Program Ordinance.

*Moved by Jack Davis seconded by Sandy Swartz to approve the Fee Schedule for the Rental Safety Verification Program Ordinance. Roll call vote: Sheila Snyder/Aye; Jack Davis/Aye; Zach Fedoruk/Aye; Sandy Swartz/Aye and President Barry Gravitt/Aye. Absent: Trustees Lonna Johnson and Kristin von Maur. Motion carried.

Audience Co	mments:	None.
--------------------	---------	-------

	_	_	_									
۸	\mathbf{r}	т.	~ `		m	N	N /			דדד		
ı					ıĸ	1	11/	н	1.0	J 8		
•	_	• 8	.,	٠.		т т.	W		1			

*Moved by Sandy Swartz seconded by Sheila Snyder to adjourn at 6:34 p.m. Ayes, 5; Nays, 0. Motion carried.

Sheri Kesterke, MMC/MiPMC	Barry Gravitt
Village Clerk	Village President